Vacate that Cocoon

A typical example of a cocoon. Whatever is trapped inside will be removed either in a short time or in quite a long time ; but whatever the period it will take for it to be released, vacating is possible.

Be you. ‘Nothing beats being the best and true version of yourself,’ I always say. Saying is never enough, so, I go on an extra mile and do. Nothing beats doing what best describes you.

Take for instance me, I always struggled to fit in a new environment – I would even be a stranger to myself. This was solely because I had this “norm” of being a shy newbie whenever I had a chance. Just the year that has recently elapsed (2020), one would swear I was a person trapped in a snail’s body. Months after the first lockdown in my country, my walk mates were utterly puzzled. Not all those around my circle were impressed though. Truth remains, thousands will hate you for being the true version of yourself, not all of us get the reason why change is so fundamental.

Possibly so, only about ten per cent of the thousand that is against your change will be filled with ecstasy upon realising the power of change in you.

My academic performance improved, let alone my mood. I always vibed whenever with people; something I never ever imagined happening for I was always a thorn in a bed of roses – always cooped in my own space. Depression changed to everlasting laughter. Mood swings became a contagious smile – almost everyone envied it. Time alone turned into moments cherished with my loved ones ( family – with my bravest warrior who I call a mother being our head and practically our everything). Reminiscing, I felt proud and humbled at the same time for being a better changed version of myself. The change in me was and still is a helluva lot of satisfying.

You know when not living a life of coveting, diseases become a foe to your body. Not necessarily trying to portray diseases as ailments that have “owners” but come to think of it, stress caused by not being able to achieve things that the next person has achieved definitely attracts illnesses to your body like iron fillings to a strong magnet.

Believe you me, your body will not be as strong when infested with millions of diseases brought about by stress which came as a result of coveting.

Taking you back to my scenario, waking up felt like a curse more than a blessing when I was still trapped in “someone” else’s body. I could not wait for a night sleep again right after making my bed in the wee hours. What is that? Do you call it life? What I am definitely aware of is that that is not life at all. I mean, life should be filled with positives more than negatives for a fellow to keep pushing forward. Describe the reluctance of facing the day as anything you want but definitely not as life because I am definitely willing and will challenge you on that one. Well, upon escaping that rock and a hard place ( what I call a cocoon in this post), “Bubbly” became my second name. I had faith. Faith to face the day. Faith to seize more than just the day but to seize it all! Going back to bed felt like a curse this time because that signalled a halt to day’s laughter, which is the body’s medicine. Do not get me wrong here, I am not trying to imply that change should come with the thoughts that sleep is not essential – get this straight, sleep is “more important than money.” Think about this, can you imagine not having information that is or was stored in you short term memory being transferred to your long term memory due to sleep deprivation? I repeat, sleep is and will always be “more important than money.

Faith pulled me out of my cocoon. Being a true version of myself gave me happines. 😍

Just after realising that I was living a life that was not mine, I told myself, “I should be me first before worrying about being the next somebody else.” By so saying, I am not by any means revealing that I was the coveting kind of a person but I just struggled to be me whenever I was a newbie in whatever environment. Coveting is never a remedy and will never be one!

Do you think the globe is benefiting anything when you are always depressed because of your coveting? Absolutely not! Yeah right, we live for ourselves not the people around us but do you think people enjoy your company? If not, are you happy about not being a source glee to those around you? Are you happy about not being of any help to the folks around you? You are always in a stew ( helpless ) yet you are not disadvantaged in any manner. Are you glad about that? If your answer to this “rhetorical” question is a “yes” then baby you better check yourself. That soul of yours needs not a bit but a thorough introspection! People should never suffocate in your presence – it is so unhealthy; not only for you, but for them as well.

Only a compos mentis (sane) person would be overwhelmed with intense grief after realising that the person they are today (pretender) is nothing but suffocating themselves and the fellow persons around them. Carpe diem (seize the day), only as a converted fellow and not a coveting one!

Carpe diem, together, as converted, not coveting fellows! 🤝

Let us challenge each other about the truth about one being himself in form of comments. Enjoy. 😍

9 thoughts on “Vacate that Cocoon

  1. Well said cuz… its worth noting that for one to reach the level of positivity desired it takes lot of strength and investing on yourself especially if you have gone through depression because truth be told, the therapist can encourage a depressed individual to change thought patterns but if that person is not ready to push themselves, it would not be an easy road.

    Liked by 4 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started